If you’ve never filed a personal injury case before, you may not be familiar with the term “statute of limitations.” A statute of limitations is the amount of time in which you are legally allowed to bring a personal injury case or have it settled in civil course. South Carolina law states that you have three years from the date of your accident to file a claim if you want to be eligible for compensation.
Pedestrian accident cases are complex and in some cases a complex claim means a lot of case building. This is not a problem for your attorney when you get to them right away. If you contact a lawyer too close to your statute of limitations, you are going to be barred from receiving compensation. The best thing to do is hire a lawyer as soon as you can so they can get working on your case right away.
South Carolina has the law of shared fault when it comes to your compensation. This law defines how much of your compensation you are allowed to collect after the role you had causing the accident gets determined. You can be compensated for three factors which includes:
There will be deliberation about how much you can collect for these damages and when you have a number decided, it is going to be affected by the fault that you had causing the accident. Shared fault laws say:
Our job as North Augusta pedestrian accident lawyers is to protect your right to full compensation. If, for example, you have been deemed 10% at fault because you where talking on your cellphone while walking through a cross walk when you got hit, your compensation award will be reduced by 10%. If you are awarded $100,000 in compensation for your damages and injuries, you will be able to collect $90,000 to account for your role in the accident.
In order for your pedestrian accident case to be successful, you have to be sure that you seek emergency medical attention now as opposed to later. You have to make your wellbeing the most important factor. You cannot expect to receive compensation for medical bills that don’t exist and you don’t want to have worsened medical conditions because you waited or avoided getting treatment.
You will have a doctor give you treatment for your injuries and you can start your road to recovery. The insurance company is given your medical records as evidence of what their insured did to you. If you did not get immediate medical attention, you may have drawn their suspicions. They might think you lied about how you got your injuries or how severe your injuries are. Either way, that would give them grounds to try to eliminate or reduce what they owe you, and you do not want to happen to you.
If you would like to be able to receive full and fair compensation, something you need to avoid at all costs is taking a phone call from the liable party’s insurance company. They will reach out to you shortly after your accident looking to get a recorded phone call. Their goal is to get you to talk to them and if you say something that makes you sound like you caused the accident or that your injuries are not all that bad, they will use it against you to reduce or eliminate your compensation. Our North Augusta pedestrian accident lawyers can take over communication for you to protect your rights to full compensation.
If you have been seriously hurt in a pedestrian accident and are looking for skilled and dependable North Augusta pedestrian accident lawyers, please call our office today to set up your free initial consultation. You can learn more about your case and we will give you guidance on how to receive the fullest possible compensation award.