"Very strong lawyers that are professionals. They place they client's needs front and center. Highly recommend this law firm."
- Richard Leonard
This law firm is absolutely excellent. The lawyers and staff are polite, helpful, and efficient. I will definitely consult with them again.
- Liz Cox
"Nimmons Malchov Johnson has an excellent record. Their staff is professional and caring. Highly recommend them for your legal needs."
- Carolyn Burtard
"I was very pleased with the services of Mr. Malchow. I have recommended him a number of times to family and friends."
- Rosemary Wilkie
336 Georgia Ave, Suite 206C
North Augusta, South Carolina 29841
The term personal injury is one that can define an array of accidents. If you have been injured and it was directly related to the behavior of someone else, then you will likely be eligible for compensation. Sometimes when someone fails to act to protect you, that is a personal injury case. You can also file for a case if you are harmed by someone acting in a careless way.
The types of personal injury cases that we handle include:
If you have an injury that is within these categories, you are likely eligible to receive compensation for your damages.
Something that you should be aware of if you want to be compensated for your damages is the statute of limitations. Though you may find that the statute of limitations can vary slightly between different types of cases, it is important that you know the general time limitation is three years starting from the date of your accident. That means you have no more than three years to bring your claim or have it files in civil court. If you are late for this statute, then you will no longer be able to bring your claim.
The sooner you get to our personal injury attorneys in North Augusta, SC about your claim, the better off you will be. It takes time to build a strong case and the longer you wait, the less time your lawyer will have to do that for you. Your evidence may go missing if you wait and your witnesses could forget key details that might be crucial to the success of your case.
When you are seeking compensation, you are doing so from the insurance company of the liable party. They will be the ones responsible for covering your damages. In a case such as a slip and fall at someone’s residence, you would be asking the homeowner’s insurance company to cover your compensation. They can cover your damages including:
These damages are calculated and you will be given a compensation award based on the number that is determined. However, your award will be affected by the role you played in causing your accident. For instance, if you were speeding on the highway before someone side swiped you and caused an accident, the insurance company may deem you partially responsible for your injuries.
South Carolina is a shared fault state which means you can still collect compensation even if you are deemed partially at fault. The rules go as such:
If you have been deemed 20% at fault and were given $10,000 in damages, you will be allowed to collect $8,000 to account for your fault in the accident.
The best way to protect your rights to full compensation is to avoid taking a phone call from the insurance company. They will reach out to you shortly after your accident and it is important that you do not give them a recorded statement. They will say that it will help resolve your claim, but they are only interested in protecting their bottom line. If you say something wrong, they can use that to reduce or eliminate your claim. The wisest thing to do is have your lawyer take over communication.
When you look at a car that has been in a crash, you might wonder how they made it out of there alive. These crashes can be so scary and result in such severe injuries that could potentially affect the person for the rest of their life. When you have been hurt this badly, you deserve compensation.
The most common injuries that we see in car accidents include:
If you want your case to be successful, you need to know that immediate medical care is the top priority. You have to see a doctor as soon as you possibly can in order to receive treatment. When you are there, be sure to express every concern and point out everything that is in pain. They will be able to take extensive notes about your injuries and prescribe what needs to be prescribed so that you can get better.
When you have these notes from your doctor, we use them as evidence to show the insurance company how badly their insured hurt you and that they are liable for all of these injuries.
We want to see you get treatment right away so that you start to recover as soon as possible. You can do a few things to start treatment. You might be taken to the emergency room or you might go to an urgent care facility. Just make sure that you go as soon as you possibly can.
You need to be educated about the South Carolina laws regarding car accidents, if you want to be able to receive compensation. Understanding that you need to get your case filed on time is a key part of this. State law mandates that you do this within three years of the accident.
These three years can seem like a very long time, but it is important that you do not wait to seek the help of our personal injury attorneys in North Augusta, SC, as time is of the essence. As soon as possible is the best time to reach out to one of our personal injury attorneys in North Augusta, SC to set up a free consultation with them.
If you do not file a claim within three years of the car accident, then you will no longer be eligible for compensation. Even if you wait until almost three years, a lawyer may not be able to put together a case in that time that would be successful. You need to file right away so that you can protect your evidence and take statements from your witnesses right away before they forget key details.
When you have a car accident case, there are some important dos and don’ts that you need to be aware of if you want the case to be successful. In almost every car accident, there is going to be someone who is partially or entirely responsible for causing the crash. This fault could be shared between all the parties involved or go solely onto one person.
When you have the insurance company who represents a liable party, they are going to try to do everything that they can to take the blame off of their insured party. Something that they may try to get from you is a recorded statement. They will call you and try to get you to give them this statement where they are trained to get answers from you that will hurt your case. If you say the wrong thing, they can throw away your case or reduce the compensation that they owe you. The best thing you can do is allow your lawyer to take over the communication.
Workers’ compensation exists so that your employer can be able to prove you with compensation for your medical expenses, rehabilitation fees, and lost wages, if you have suffered an injury while at work. You get to have these benefits in the hopes that you can recover enough to return to work after receiving treatment.
You can receive workers’ compensation for a number of things. In most cases, workers’ compensation will be given to someone who has been injured in a construction or industrial accident, but it can also be for someone hurt in an auto accident if they drive for a living. Workers’ compensation can also apply for a retail worker who was injured in a stock room, for example. Essentially, if you have been injured at your place of work and it was due to the negligence of someone else, you may bring a workers’ compensation claim to receive compensation for your injuries and damages.
If you want to make sure that you have the best chance of success in your case, you absolutely need to inform your employer of the accident. The very first step that you should take needs to be to report your injury to someone higher up than yourself. That could be either your employer or supervisor. You have to make sure that this happens immediately, as you do not have an unlimited amount of time to report your injury.
You may be required to file paperwork related to your workers’ compensation claim through your employer. You need to keep any copy of the reports and paperwork that you fill out for your own records.
Depending on how much you make, you will be able to receive a portion of that in workers’ compensation for a limited amount of time. There will be a maximum number determined based on your wages and it will vary from case to case as to how long you can receive this weekly wage from workers’ compensation.
Do make sure that you are contacting our personal injury attorneys in North Augusta, SC right away so that you don’t miss steps or deadlines. You do not want to miss out on the chance to collect workers’ compensation because of a few details. The sooner you get to a lawyer about your case, the better off you will be.
You can receive compensation for many types of treatments. Workplace injuries can often go hand in hand with expensive and frequent doctor visits. You may be looking at paying for emergency room bills, copays at your primary doctor, bills for physical therapy, costs of medication, and sometimes travel to get to these appointments.
You may even need compensation to help you find a new line of work. If you are badly injured, you may not have a full recovery, which means you may not be able to go back to a job that requires a lot of physical labor. Workers’ compensation is legally obligated to help you with vocational rehab. If you have questions about this, you can always feel free to reach out to our personal injury attorneys in North Augusta, SC.
When you are seeking compensation, you need to understand that you are not given an unlimited amount of time to bring your case or have it settled in civil court. You will be given three years from the date of your truck accident to bring your case, according to South Carolina statutes.
It’s a big risk to wait to hire an attorney. You make their job a lot harder if you wait to contact them because they are going to be on a deadline. The longer you wait to hire our personal injury attorneys in North Augusta, SC, the shorter deadline you are dealing with, making the success of your case less likely.
Three years can go by quickly; as those years pass, your evidence can disappear. You may not be able to track down your witnesses, and the ones you do find may have forgotten key details. Plus, if you miss this deadline, then you are no longer eligible for compensation.
South Carolina state law says that anyone who has been injured in a truck accident will be subject to the rules of modified comparative negligence laws. These laws are what dictate the compensation that you are able to collect.
Modified comparative negligence is as follows:
For example, if you were sharing the road with a truck and you wanted to get past them because they were swerving and you had to speed to get around them when they collided with you, that might be seen as you being partially at fault. Let’s say you were given 20% fault for this and then awarded $100,000. You would be able to collect a reduced award of $80,000 in damages.
You will be compensated for the following factors including:
Essentially, you will be likely be compensated more if your injuries are more severe. During insurance negotiations, your fault will be deliberated and a number will be determined regarding the fault you had for the accident, as well as the amount of compensation you are owed.
To make sure that you are going to have the best chance at full compensation, you need to seek immediate medical attention to get your injuries addressed and start treatment. Getting better should be your top priority.
It is extremely important that you immediately seek medical attention for two reasons. First, you want to stop being in pain and start getting better. You cannot get rid of injuries without treatment for them. Second, when you see a doctor, they put your injuries and treatments in a written document that we can use to show the insurance company what they need to compensate you for.
In every personal injury case, there is a mistake that we hope our clients do not make before they come to see us. There have been instances where this happens and we cannot fix it. Very shortly after your accident, you will likely receive a phone call from the insurance company looking to get a recorded statement from you. They will seem helpful but in order to maximize your case, it is essential that you do not give them a statement.
These insurance companies have representative who are trained to make a recorded statement go in their favor, not yours. If you give a response that damages your case, they will be able to use that against you and either reduce or eliminate your claim, which you want to avoid at all costs.
Our attorneys will be able to take these communications over on your behalf so that your case will be protected from the insurance company.
If you were severely injured in a truck accident, we will be able to help you through this. Please call our personal injury attorneys in North Augusta, SC today to get the compensation you deserve. Set up your free initial consultation today to go over the details of your case.